top of page

Aukey waterproof bag review

I got my Aukey universal waterproof ‘case’ in the post a couple of days ago, and this is my review.

Aukey kept the packaging simple, using plastic packaging with a hinge on the bottom for easy opening. Inside you will find: the case itself, a belt strap, a neck hanger and a small instruction sheet of paper.

At a first glance, I was impressed by the sleek design of the bag, with a clear panel big enough to fit even my OnePlus one’s 5.5” screen comfortably, and a panel for the camera at the back. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. The pictures do a great job of explaining how the bag works, something that took me a couple of minutes to figure out without looking at the instructions, and the legal info and safety test info were both concise. The only thing that confused me about the case was the compass at the top – it seems like an unnecessary space-filler to me, as even if you decided to use this product in the sea, I don’t see why you would need a compass.

After conducting the safety test – simply putting a piece of kitchen towel, tissue or toilet roll into the bag, sealing it and submerging it for half an hour - I was slightly worried by the fact that, although the tissue was dry, I could see what looked like patches of water between the outer layer and inner layer of the bag.

This didn’t put me off from putting my phone in the bag and testing it out. The bag works a treat: The camera works really well, and although the microphone worked, it was muffled quite a bit, and the touchscreen generally works perfectly. Although the bag is large enough to show the whole screen of my OnePlus one, the Hardware buttons were covered by the black material on the bottom of the bag, and as I am currently using a ROM which lacks the option to use software buttons, this was a slight problem.

Overall, I think that this bag is a great accessory, which is a must-have for anyone wishing to use a phone underwater, as it comes with the highest waterproofing rating, IPX8, and is the best waterproofing product I have used to date. The bag would also be very useful for taking photos underwater, which I tried, finding no difference from a normal photography experience on my phone.

All in all, Aukey have done a really good job with this product; the packaging is simple but effective, the accessories included with the case are useful,

and serve an important purpose, and the case itself is generally well designed, although I was a little worried when seeing patches of water in-between the inner layers of the bag.

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
TOP NEWS
LATEST NEWS
ARCHIVE
FOLLOW US
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
RSS Feed
bottom of page